Design Notebook: Cherry Blossoms and Empty Walls

I’ve got a couple of lonely, empty walls that line the staircase of Our Peach.

My Empty Walls

I just haven’t quite figured out what I’d like to dress them with. I’ve thought of framed art work mixed in with some framed photographs of us and family and friends. I’ve thought of painting them, but am not quite convinced of a color that will complement the palette we already have. And then I saw this lovely idea from a Young House Love House Crashing post:

Cherry Blossom Mural From Young House Love

Beautiful, eh? And what perfect timing of my find because this past weekend was the official launch of the National Cherry Blossom Festival here in Washington, DC.  The 2010 Cherry Blossom Festival began on March 27 and will run through April 11.  It is an annual celebration of spring in our Nation’s Capital.  Thanks to the Japanese, who gave us the beautiful cherry blossom trees that now adorn the Tidal Basin by the Potomac River.

And fantastically, I found other similar ideas of cherry blossom walls.  Looks like I can get a wall decal or “wall tattoo” to place on my walls, just got to find the right one….

From Uncommon Accents

From IR Korea Deco

From Single Stone Studios

From Red River Interiors

From Surface Collective

From This Next

And to convince the Hubby of this brilliant idea!

Potential sources for wall decals: Dali Decals, Surface Collective

5 thoughts on “Design Notebook: Cherry Blossoms and Empty Walls

  1. I think you should go for it!!! The blossoms are gorgeous as murals!
    And my walls are quite empty too, but I refuse to fill them with clutter and “stuff” just to cover them. They will remain empty until I can find something inspired to put on them. 🙂

  2. You have made some really good points there.

    I looked on the internet for more information about the issue and
    found most people will go along with your views on this web
    site.

  3. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your site provided us with valuable information to work
    on. You have done a formidable job and our
    entire community will be grateful to you.

Leave a comment