Dreaming of Del Ray

Del Ray is a quaint little community in Alexandria, Virginia and home to treasure spots like Evening Star Cafe (modern American cuisine), The Dairy Godmother (frozen custard and nostalgic treats),  La Strada (Italian wine and dine), and of course St. Elmo’s (coffee and pub).  Del Ray is bounded Braddock Road on the south, Russell Road on the west, East and West Glebe Roads on the north, and Jefferson Davis Highway on the east.  It’s main avenue is Mount Vernon.  Hubby and I discovered Del Ray when we were living in South Arlington when we first moved to the DC area in 2003.  We’ve always enjoyed the neighborhood and have it at the top of our future move-to list.  It is inevitable that the Hubby and I will have to someday leave Our Beloved Peach.  It’s a great starter home, but we will at some point be hunting for a home that we can have a family in.  I absolutely love neighborhoods that have a walking community…and Del Ray is certainly that.  I also love that a many of the homes in Del Ray have front porches and large backyards.  So, today, I was dreaming of Del Ray and found these beautiful homes.  Someday….I hope to have one like these…

I love the vibrant eggplant color and the detail on the trims.

Looks so cheerful and cozy at the same time.

Beautiful landscaping, and the bungalow style is always a favorite.

Love the farmhouse style; this might just be my favorite yet.

*All images from Jen Walker.

Leave a comment